MMAA Blog Tour; Spotlight on D. Lee Jortner

Today I would like to spotlight one of my fellow authors in ‘Mechanized Masterpieces 2, an American Anthology’; D. Lee Jortner and her short story ‘Payoff for Aire-Pirate Pete’. 

MM2_FBbanner 

D. Lee Jortner – “I grew up in the West and love and miss the mountains here in the midwest, so I was happy to place my story out where the sky is big and the mountains reach past the clouds.”

DL Jortner

Playing with imaginary friends and writing and directing plays in the neighbor’s garage filled D. Lee Jortner’s childhood. Today she lets her imagination flow onto her keyboard as she writes mystery, fantasy and steampunk stories and novels. “Payoff for Air-Pirate Pete” is her first short story for Xchyler Publishing. She also enjoys her marketing role with the company and teaching English composition at Ivy Tech Community College in Valparaiso, Indiana. When not writing or working, Jortner is usually busy with her husband, children or grandchildren.

Facebook | Amazon | Goodreads | Blog | Pinterest | Twitter

Be sure and enter the RAFFLECOPTER contest to win some  great prizes from Xchyler Publishing!

I caught up with Miss Jortner to talk about her writing:

Please share how you came up with the concept for your story? 

I always loved O.Henry.  I remember my Dad reading

me his stories when I was a child. My favorite was The Ransom of Red Chief.

Please name some of your other published works?

My one short work available on Amazon is Chimmeken Crossing the Delaware, An American Historical Fantasy

What is your preferred writing genre?

Genre doesn’t matter to me, but it has to ring true.

And preferred reading genre?

I love historical fiction, of all types.

Do you have any particular writing habits?

I stay up very very late writing when my muse hits me, then try to sleep, and look at it in the morning.  Often it is so full of error, I can’t stand myself, but I usually find some nuggets I can use.

Do you have a playlist that you created while writing your story?

Total quiet.  And if I put on music, I could not tell you what is was, I am in the zone and I hear nor see anything else.

Panster or plotter?

Panster for sure.

Advice for writers?

Get lots of eyes to look at your work, and then keep the parts you love, in spite of the advice.

What’s up next for you?

I want to take Effie and Clayton on another adventure.

Character Casting: Who would you cast for your main characters and why? 

Effie: Mishi Barton http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0059215/

Cayton: Johnny Depp  (or a younger version?)

Author Favorite Things: 

– Quote: “Never supress a generous thought” Camilla Kimball

– Movie: Stand by Me

– Candy bar: Almond Joy

– Junk food: Not a fan.. Give me a nice fresh fruit smoothie any day.

– Place you visited: Banff Alberta Canada

– Restaurant:  The White House

– Island: Dominican Republic

MMAA2_Webkit_MyReview-2

I am of course biased, since I am a co-author in this anthology with Miss Jortner, but I think this story is just great. Jortner gives a wonderful tribute to the classic tale of ‘The Ransom of Red Chief’and fills it with the cogs steam and dirigibles that are part and parcel of steampunk. Her characters are memorable and full of personality. This is one of the more lighthearted tales of the anthology, a cheerful ray of sunshine that brightens up the whole work. I am thrilled to be included alongside Miss Jortner and this great tale of daring dirigibles and abduction gone awry.

MMAA2_Webkit_TheNovel-2

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Pre Release Peek: Mechanized Masterpieces 2 – Spotlighting Author Neve Talbot | Jodi L. Milner, Author
  2. Pingback: More MM2 Interviews

Leave a Reply

